My 30 day challenge

It’s September 1, 2014 – new beginnings.

My son turns all of 14! He returns to school. I plan to embark on one of the hardest challenges of my life – The 30 Challenge – Bikram Yoga!

Bikram Yoga is intense yoga in equally intense heat for 90 minutes. I am not practising for hell, I have no intentions of going there. I am seeking balance. Bikram Yoga uses 26 poses repeated twice during the 90 minute session to address all ‘maaly gripe and fluxxy complain’ – all ailments.

All my life I have believed in the power of exercise. I sleep better. I eat better and I just feel better when I am fitter. My fittest days are behind me. After 2 lovely children, I do not believe I can still collect a ball from outside the 18 yard box and slot it home. I certainly can’t leap nearly as far as I used to in the long jump pit. Neither can I elevate as high as I used to over the high jump bar.

I am now seeking a mental and physical high – a balance I now don’t have. Run down from the stresses of balancing home and a professional life I need a balance.

A few weeks ago, I pulled up at 17 Latham Avenue, Kingston – Bikram Yoga Jamaica. My sister and friend Paula had told me about this yoga in heat. I stayed up for hours doing some research on this thing…nothing I read prepared me for the challenge. That first day Rafael Veiga – ‘Rafa’ the instructor informed us to focus on just staying in the room for 90 minutes. That we did.

After that one class, I had my best sleep ever and I want to continue having that.

What I know for sure is that 3 weeks after my first class I am here for the 30 day challenge. This means I must do 30 straight sessions of yoga in approximately 105 degrees Fahrenheit! If I miss a day, I have the option of catching up by doing the double – one in the morning and the other in the evening.

September 1 – this is the day the challenge official starts. I cannot go. I am choosing to celebrate with my son his big 14 with family at home…I have to double up on the yoga at least one of the days.

Take the challenge with me!

About emilyshields

Attorney-at-Law, Partner -Gifford Thompson & Shields; Broadcast Journalist; Host of RJR's Hotline - www.rjr94fm.com; Gunner Twitter- @emilymshields
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

